` World MMA Awards winners - Fighters Only Magazine

World MMA Awards winners

WMMA Awards

Conor McGregor became only the second fighter in history to hold onto the 'Fighter of the Year' award when the sport’s biggest stars defended on Las Vegas last night for the IX Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards.

Just as former 205lb champion Jon Jones did in 2011 and 2012, 'Notorious' retained the 'Charles Mask Lewis' statue following a year in which he made history, becoming not only the first UFC champion to hold two belts simultaneously but also smashing all box office an PPV records.

The red carpet ceremony returned to The Venetian Theater in Las Vegas, Nevada, last night celebrating the very best of the action from Planet MMA’s rings and cages in 2016. Here’s a full rundown of the evenings biggest winners, as voted for by the sport’s global fan base.




Charles 'Mask' Lewis Fighter of the Year

Winner: Conor McGregor

Nominated: Michael Bisping, Donald Cerrone, Cody Garbrandt, Stipe Miocic


Female Fighter of the Year

Winner: Amanda Nunes

Nominated: Cris Cyborg, Angela Hill, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Angela Lee


Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Winner: Cody Garbrandt

Nominated: Yair Rodriguez, Doo Ho Choi, Derrick Lewis, Michael Page


International Fighter of the Year

Winner: Khabib Nurmagomedov

Nominated: Michael Bisping, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Conor McGregor, Gegard Mousasi


Fight of the Year

Winner: Cub Swanson vs. Doo Ho Choi (UFC 206)

Nominated: Robbie Lawler vs. Carlos Condit (UFC 195), Michael Bisping vs. Anderson Silva (UFN 84), Conor McGregor vs. Nate Diaz 2 (UFC 202), Michael Chandler vs. Benson Henderson (Bellator 165)


Knockout of the Year

Winner: Michael Page (vs. ‘Cyborg’ Santos, Bellator 158)

Nominated: Anthony Johnson (vs. Glover Teixeira, UFC 202), Landon Vannata (vs. John Makdessi, UFC 206), 

Yair Rodriguez (vs. Andre Fili, UFC 197), Michael Chandler (vs. Pitbull Freire, Bellator 157)


Submission of the Year

Winner: Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196)

Nominated: Ben Rothwell (vs. Josh Barnett,UFC on FOX 18), Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196), MacKenzie Dern (vs. Montana Stewart, Legacy 61), Thiago Moises (vs. David Catillo, RFA 35)


Comeback of the Year

Winner: Miesha Tate (vs. Holly Holm, UFC 196)

Nominated: Michael Bisping (vs. Anderson Silva, UFN 84), Nate Diaz (vs. Conor McGregor, UFC 196), Dan Henderson (vs. Hector Lombard, UFC 199), Dominick Cruz (Career)


Upset of the Year

Winner: Michael Bisping (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC 199)

Nominated: Bryan Barberna (vs. Warlley Alves, UFC on FOX 18), Joe Taimanglo (vs. Darrion Caldwell, Bellator 159), Brandon Moreno (vs. Louis Smolka, UFN 96), Zac Riley (vs. Hugo Viana, RFA 34)


Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

Winner: John Kavanagh

Nominated: Jason Parillo, Din Thomas, Marcus Marinelli, Greg Jackson


Trainer of the Year

Winner: Mike Dolce (Nutritionist)

Nominated: Jake Bonacci (S&C coach), Lawrence Herrera (S&C coach), Loren Landow (S&C coach), George Lockhart (Nutritionist)


Gym of the Year

Winner: American Top Team

Nominated: SBG Ireland, Jackson-Wink MMA, American Kickboxing Academy, Team Alpha Male


Referee of the Year

Winner: John McCarthy

Nominated: Marc Goddard, Herb Dean, Yves Lavigne, Leon Roberts


Ringcard Girl of the Year

Winner: Jhenny Andrade

Nominated: Arianny Celeste, Brittney Palmer, Mercedes Terrell, Carly Baker


Leading Man

Winner: Dana White

Nominated: Scott Coker, Victor Cui, Marc Ratner, Jeff Novitzky


Best Promotion

Winner: UFC

Nominated: Bellator MMA, One Championship, KSW, Legacy


Personality of the Year

Winner: Joe Rogan

Nominated: Jimmy Smith, Jon Anik, Matt Serra, Brendan Schaub


Analyst of the Year

Winner: Dominick Cruz

Nominated: Brian Stann, Dan Hardy, Robin Black, Chael Sonnen


Best MMA Programming

Winner: The Ultimate Fighter

Nominated: UFC Embedded, Lookin' for a Fight, The MMA Hour, UFC Breakdown


MMA Media Source of the Year

Winner: MMA Fighting

Nominated: MMA Junkie, Bloody Elbow, Sherdog, Flocombat


MMA Journalist of the Year

Winner: Ariel Helwani

Nominated: Shaun Al-Shatti, Brett Okamoto, Ben Fowlkes, Karim Zidan


MMA Clothing and Equipment Brand of the Year

Winner: Venum

Nominated: Hayabusa, Bad Boy, Virus, Everlast



* Watch highlights of last night’s ceremony on Fox Sports on March 10th, check local listings for start times.